Podcasts

I personally have never used or watched a podcast but I do know a lot of people who love them and wouldn’t know what to do without them.

I chose to listen to Adam Bellows podcasts season 3 episode 8 and 9. One thing that stuck out to me is that he said his child’s teacher told him that homework is a good way for parents and children to spend one on one time.  Is this teacher nuts? http://onenerdyteacher.podomatic.com/entry/2015-10-14T03_03_03-07_00

Adam Bellow and the guy on the podcast talked about recognizing when something in education is relevant and if you can’t get excited about doing it, how the heck do you get your students excited about it?! I wish all teachers thought like that because I believe we could have more success in the classroom.

So… digital stories…I believe great things can come from using digital storytelling in your classroom. It is a great way to include technology into the more “difficult” subjects and make students more excited. I think it would be so interesting to have students write a story and make digital characters to go along with it. Can you imagine the creativity that would pour out of your students? I am a firm believer that we need creativity in the classroom at all grades and unfortunately it is becoming less important for students to have an original thought. I remember in elementary school be required to use my reasoning skills and learning to justify my creativity. When you have kids really think and understand their thoughts and opinions their sense of creativity tends to explode from their minds. They are required to think how we think they should because we are forced to teach to the standards. I think I will include digital storytelling in my classrooms to keep creativity alive, it could be like a motivator if used correctly. Tell them even though they have to write a story or what have you once they wrote it they could make it come to life using whatever form they want!

 

I actually enjoyed listening to the podcasts and digital stories and I think I will use them in the future. It is easy and convenient to listen to a conversation while doing other things. I am going to start thinking in the way that I ask myself “Is this relevant”?

Plus for all you Star Wars fans out there, they discuss it on the podcast I listened to!😍😍😍

 

3 thoughts on “Podcasts”

  1. I really like the podcast you chose. I have always thought that was important. If you are the teacher and you are not interested in it, and you are teaching it vague and acting bored, your students are not going to like it either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

