Digital Attentiveness

When I read articles or listen to TED talks about using the internet (or abusing) I always feel so guilty. It’s not because I am doing something bad on the internet I just feel like I could be doing something more productive. I am hardly ever on my phone during work and I try really hard not to be on my phone at school, but I always find myself using a spare 2 minutes to play a game or check emails or my worst addiction, online shopping.

I would like to consider myself a good listener and if I know someone has something really important to tell me that requires my undivided attention then I will give them the respect they deserve and put my phone away. Unfortunately that favor does not always get returned when I need a friend. This should be a skill all students should learn starting at a very young age. You have to give respect in order to earn respect.

I do not feel like anyone is ever good at multi-tasking. When you are doing more than one thing you will ALWAYS miss out on something and I feel like you always miss out on the one thing you can’t afford to miss. How many of us could say 100% that while someone is talking to us, five minutes later we remember everything about that conversation? Do you remember the main part of the conversation? Do you remember the tone in the persons voice? Do you remember what you were getting distracted by? I am not going to sit here and type a bunch of bologna and say I can go without internet because honestly I can’t, it is unfortunately a HUGE part of my life that makes my days run smoother. All I am saying is that it helps me with my friends and creates a good thing between us because they know I will listen no matter what.

I feel like we need to be more attentive when not only  someone is speaking to us asking for the respect they deserve but when our loved ones are around. You only get so many moments and after awhile those moments have come and gone and you don’t get them back. The internet is an amazing wonderful gift that helps us develop great ideas but I feel like it is taken for granted at times. I think in my classrooms I will set aside one day a week to unplug and teach my kids the “old-school” way to learn.

1 thought on “Digital Attentiveness”

  1. I get you completely with the feeling guilty part. I feel guilty sitting inside all day, especially when it is a very nice day outside and I could be doing activities.

    Like

Leave a Reply

