It’s Monday! What are you reading??

PercySeamonsters

Well this week I finished the second Percy Jackson book.  I had been listening to it via CD and noticed late in the book I was struggling to stay focused so I had actually found an online copy of the book and followed along with the CD by reading.  If you read my blog from last week I had just ventured into the 4th chapter and I was getting to the part where things at Camp Half-blood were not going so well.  What I did not tell you is that at the camp there is a tree made of Thalia whom is Zeus’s daughter.  She protects the camp but becomes poisoned so that means the camp is vulnerable to attack.  Percy decides he is going to set out on an adventure to find a cure for Thalia’s tree and also his friend Grover.  When they find the cure Thalia comes from the tree like nothing had every happened and Percy then starts to believe she is the child of a god that can destroy Olympus!  At this point I was like “No Way!” “This is so crazy!”

By the way spoiler alert!  Did I mention Tyson is Percy’s half brother?  Did I mention that Tyson is a Cyclops?  No? Well surprise then Percy has a half brother named Tyson who is a Cyclops!!  I have yet to watch this movie partly because I can’t find it, but I did come across the third book in the series The Titan’s Curse, which I plan on reading this next week!!

Have a safe and wonderful Thanksgiving everyone I look forward to hearing your Monday reading blogs!!

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading??”

  1. Hmm…I have not read any of the Percy Jackson books, but they sound very interesting! Would you say the qualify as fantasy? I may have to seek the first one out and give it a read!! Thanks for the recommendation. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

    Like

    1. I would classify the Percy Jackson books as mythology. They really make your mind wonder and start to ask questions about how the Greek gods came about and what happened to them in their reign.

      Like

  2. I’ve only read the first Percy Jackson book and I have seen the movie and really enjoyed them! One of my friends absolutely loves these books and reads them every year, after your description of this one I might have to borrow it from him!

    Like

  3. Yay for more Percy!! I think Riordian does a really good job at appealing to multiple audiences. Written at a level that kids can understand, but (in my opinion) exciting enough to keep young adults/adults coming back for more. Now that’s talent!

    Like

  4. I actually really enjoyed the movie version of this book. I’ve only read The Lightning Thief and probably won’t read more, though I have read the first two books in the Heroes of Olympus series out loud to my son.

    Like

Leave a Reply

