It’s Monday! What are you reading??

1377462

Who loves their grandpa??  All of us right?!  This book was so cute because not only did Henry and Mudge (Henry’s dog) love visiting the grandpas but the grandpas loved having them visit.  I always loved spending the day with my grandpa on the farm, I even chuckled a little bit because in the book they say skivvies.  My grandpa used to say that all the time!

image

I loved April fools day when I was younger because tricking people was so funny and a challenge for the whole day.  Now that I am older I think people take it to far sometimes, but maybe I am just becoming callused in my old age…JOKE! Wagner starts off his day already stressful because he is late to school, on top of that his friends and teacher keep joking around with him.  Well finally Wagner decides to pull the wool over their eyes, but no one thinks it is funny.  Story of my life…JOKE!

41y+zQwt+AL__SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Ok so I have an English Bulldog named Dozer who absolutely LOVES playing fetch with his one very special ball.  If you joke around with him and pretend to throw it, he will lay down and start to pout because his life is pretty much over at that point.  When I was reading this book I felt like it was written about my Dozer dog and I just giggled to myself because I love him so much.

91Li1d7rdWL

This story was so cute and simple yet so accurate and detailed.  I was always told when I was little that if I ate those darn watermelon seeds I would have one grow in my stomach!! I just couldn’t fathom a giant watermelon growing in my little tummy, so naturally I became afraid of those little seeds.  The crocodile loves watermelon and eats it all the time but freaks out when he accidentally eats a seed!  He panics about it growing in his tummy but he burps and magically it pops out!  This was just such a great book, surprise surprise I laughed while reading it.

51x57JMrD4L__SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

This book was all about dogs.  They ran, played in mud, the play in water and the dig.  They dig up a dinosaur that ends up coming back to life and chasing them so naturally they continue to run.  Again, like the other stories the illustrations are amazing and so detailed which make the reading so much better.

91NlCv2bm4L

I thought the illustrations in this book were very plain compared to the others that I have read.  There were no bright colors except the hat, since that is the main focus of the story I liked how it stood out more than its surroundings.  I was actually surprised at the ending when the bear ate the rabbit for stealing his hat!  I still loved the book though.

hp-5074_1z

This book was definitely something I would use for math.  Every time Pete lost a button they subtracted so it was definitely an interactive book which I love.  Teaching with interactive books I feel makes learning more fun.

9629114

I love rhyming books!  Poor Mrs. Brown just can’t catch a break, it all starts with his bike accident do to a terrier nawing at her feet.  Then the animals she takes care of, which is 1 cow, 2 pigs, 3 ducks, and a yak.  This phrase is repeated throughout the book so it would be easy to talk about repeating phrases.  After Mrs. Brown gets home from the hospital she is resting and then all of a sudden the bed falls through the floor with her, 1 cow, 2 pigs, 3 ducks, and a yak.  They all end up in the hospital and then they all end up living in the barn.

3429802

Ugh! I love this book.  It is a counting book, it starts at 1 with 1 boy and goes all the way to 10.  I know you are probably thinking what makes it so special?  It’s just another counting book.  Well I have never seen a counting book that was interactive among words.  I will try to explain this the best way I can.  For example, the words “Two Seals” is on one page and the conjoining page has a window cut out with two seals in it, when you flip the page over the square cut out now changes the word seal into sea.  So that next page says “At The Sea”.  Hopefully, it makes sense, if not I would recommend reading it, don’t worry it doesn’t take very long.

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading??”

  1. All of these books sound terrific! I think Henry and Mudge and the Great Grandpas sounds pretty funny! I’ve read See Me Run and Pete the Cat and his Four Groovy Buttons and enjoyed both of them. They were fun and easy to read. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

