It is Monday! What are you reading??

So this week I dove deeper into my reading challenge. I went straight to our public library to see what they had and to my surprise they only had 2 books that had won the Theodore Seuss Geisel award! Of the two that I checked out, one of the authors was Mo Willems. I did some research on the lovely internet about Mo Willems and he had numerous books that have won this particular award.  I obviously did not find these Mo Willem’s books at our public library but I did find them online, so I took advantage of that and did an audio version of the other books by Mo Willems that had either been an honor book or won a medal for Theodore Seuss Geisel award.

Mr. Putter

This is the first book I read written by Cynthia Rylant,  it was a 2015 honor book for the Theodore Seuss Geisel award, along with Waiting Is Not Easy!  Mr. Putter and Tabby books are so adorable.  They are a part of a series, so I plan on reading them all at some point.  This book Mr. Putter decides to try something new with Tabby because they both like reading.  They sign up for a new adventure doing reading with your pet time at the library.  Mr. Putter invites his friend Mrs. Teaberry and her dog Zeke to sign up as well.  Zeke likes new things so Mr. Putter is nervous but it turns out to be a great day reading at the library.  I just really loved how the illustrations in this book were so animated and real looking.  Arthur Howard is definitely an amazing illustrator.

So for anyone who is not familiar with Mo Willems, his books are about a pig and an elephant, Piggie and Gerald.  A little bit of information regarding Mo Willems, he does all his own illustrations.  Just a little bit more information, he began his whole career on Sesame Street as a writer and animator.  I think I found my new favorite author/illustrator.

In no particular order these are the books I read/listened to, written AND illustrated by Mo Willems.

lets go for a drive

2013 Honor Book

broke_my_trunk

2012 Honor Book

big guy took my ball

2014 Honor Book

9781423113478_p0_v6_s192x300

2009 Medal Winner

511598

2008 Medal Winner

267257_10151142493693700_1323326442_n

2011 Honor Book

51I4wh8pIfL

2015 Honor Book

I absolutely loved all these books.  The way Mo Willems portrays the friendship between Piggie and Gerald is so realistic.  They never change looks but their expressions change throughout each individual story and it makes reading them so much fun!  He uses a lot of explanation points during the stories and Gerald or Piggie’s body portrays that excitement.  If any of you ever get the chance to read these books please do!  They are easy readers but that is what the Theodore Seuss Geisel award/honor books really focus on.  Such a fun reading for the week!

16 thoughts on “It is Monday! What are you reading??”

  1. I just finished ten books from the Elephant and Piggie series and loved every one of them! I can’t wait to read the rest of them. I just have to find them first! So glad someone else shares my excitement for these books.My favorite is probably We are in a book, I thought that one was so cute!!

    Like

  2. Mo Willems definitely seems like an excellent and talented author/illustrator! The only book that I’ve read by him is “Knuffle Bunny: A Cautionary Tale,” but I think I should check out some of his other stories! Good post!

    Like

  3. These look like really cute books to read to students throughout the course of the year! I have never heard of any of these books, but they look interesting! I especially like the poor, I Broke my Trunk one! It looks quite funny and entertaining!

    Like

  4. Mo Willems is one of my faves fo sho! The simplicity of his illustrations and prose really make the message clear and reading them out loud a lot of fun! Animal stories are the best. Animals acting like people in stories are even better! CUTENESS OVERLOAD!

    Like

  5. “We Are in a Book!” looks really fun. I love stories like that that break the fourth wall, kids have so much fun with them. “Another Monster at the End of this Book” is like that; it’s my 3-year-old cousin’s favorite. I’ve probably read it 20 times to him!

    Like

  6. Great book list. I haven’t read Mr. Putter and Tabby, but if you find it adorable, chances are it has great appeal to the young reader. That is often the way I rate something. If I find it cute as heck, chances are, kids will love it! 🙂 Cynthia Rylant is a great children’s author. Have you read the Henry and Mudge books? They are cute, and fun for kids to read.

    Like

  7. Mr. Putter and Tabby sounds like a wonderful book to share in the classroom. I am envisioning trying to read a story with my cat. It would be an interesting experience for sure. You have a great list of books. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  8. I mentioned to someone else that Mo Willems books are so humorous and clever, but the illustrations seem so simple!! He is still such a well rounded author and illustrator that you got to love him!

    Like

Leave a Reply

