It’s Monday! What are you reading??

This week I started working on the challenge I set for myself.  If anyone is unaware of what my challenge is, I am going to read and get familiar with books that have won the Theodore Seuss Geisel award.  I decided to start off with reading some Dr. Seuss books even though, they haven’t won the award.

Oh,_the_Thinks_You_Can_Think_cover

This books is a favorite of mine.  One of my favorite parts is when you can think about Schlopp, even with a cherry on top.  I never knew what Schlopp was but I imagined it to be a delicious treat that was more yummy and magical than ice cream!  The best part about Dr. Seuss books is that they are so bright and make me want to be a part of that world.

51Aj9mJ1PAL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Honestly, the only reason I like this book is because of the oobleck!  Has anyone ever made oobleck?  If not I recommend trying it out.  I made it when I was babysitting and the kids loved it, let’s be honest here so did I!  You can find a recipe for oobleck on pinterest or on the web.  I really like how you can incorporate science into this book, kind of makes it easy to think up some future lesson plans.

For the last set of reading I did, I tried out a collection of audio books.  They are still Dr. Seuss books but they are read by some pretty popular names such as Kelsey Grammer and Dustin Hoffman, to name a few.  I really like audio books because obviously they are read very different compared to how I would read them.  My mother in law swears by them, I could honestly take them or leave them, but it is good to have that option (it definitely makes long car rides more enjoyable when you are alone).  My favorite reader is Kelsey Grammer, he helps grasp the important and exciting parts better than I can in my head when reading alone.  When I read Oh, the thinks you can think, I read it to my niece and I really tried to read in a more exciting way.  She was more attentive to the book when I was reading with excitement than if I was just reading the words to read.  I give lots of credit to the audio book for inspiring me to read with more expression.

Here is a list of the books on the audio disc.

The Cat in the Hat; Horton Hears a Who; How the Grinch Stole Christmas; Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are?; The Lorax; Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories: Gertrude McFuzz and The Big Brag; Thidwick, the Big-Hearted Moose; Horton Hatches the Egg; and The Cat in the Hat Comes Back.

hp-2339_1z

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading??”

  1. Where did you find the audio book? Was it at your library?
    I’m always afraid to go the audio book route. I’ve done 2 audio books in my life. One was a mystery I checked out in 2002 as I drove from Durango (where I was in college) to Albuquerque (to visit my grandparents) to Colorado Springs (to visit my parents) in one week. The second was last spring. A class I was supporting was reading “Swiss Family Robinson” and the only way I got through it was the audio book as I drove from Wheatland to Salt Lake City for a conference.

    Like

  2. I love Dr. Seuss books! They are just so fun to read and bring out everyone’s imagination. I think it’s perfect for you to start off your challenge by reading Dr. Seuss books and get you set in the mood of fun and silly books! Great post good luck with your challenge!

    Like

  3. What a fun challenge you have given yourself! This award definitely has some of my favorite books–they are all usually so hilarious! 🙂 I would also be interested in hearing some Dr. Seuss on audiobooks–I never thought about trying out one of his…I have only ever listened to Harry Potter books on audio, but those were absolutely FANTASTIC–I should try out some others!

    Like

  4. Audio books are da bomb! You can listen to them on a plane. You can listen to them on a train. You can listen to them here. You can listen to them there. You can listen to them anywhere! Cool post!

    Like

  5. Good old Dr. Seuss! You can’t go wrong with his books! I think they are so funny and extremely clever. There are so much things you can come up with to tie in with Dr. Seuss books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

