It’s Monday! What are you Reading???

So I made my challenge to read more books that have won the Theodore Seuss Geisel award, but this week I thought I would read one more YA literature book and I am glad I did.

17316589I decided to read The Kingdom of Little Wounds.  This is indeed the only book I read because it is quite long and kind of hard to understand what is happening at times, but I finished it and am pretty proud of myself.

It is set in somewhere in Scandinavia during the time of the Italian Fire, which I found out was syphilis.  So you can imagine in the book it talked about how people were itchy and they had sores in certain places.  Ava is a maid to Queen Isabel who is married to King Christian V.  In the beginning of the book all the maids are preparing the Queen for her daughter Sophia’s marriage to a Duke who is a great deal older than Sophia, but in this time that was not unheard of.  When Sophia is lying in bed with her new husband she screams so all the maids rush into the room and notice she has from what I could imagine, boil type things around her neck.  She ends up dying, but later on in the book we start to realize that her younger siblings are ill.  They think someone in the royal court has been poisoning the royal family but Queen Isabel later on towards the end of the book miscarriages again so they wonder if the queen has this illness and has poisoned all of her children.  There is a lot of stuff that happens in the middle parts of the book as well.  Ava tells a lie that the queens right hand lady is the one that poisoned the children, she gets mixed up with Lord Nicholas who is pretty evil from start to finish.  I liked how the author, Susan Cokal, didn’t hold back with his character.  I instantly felt hatred for his character, he just seemed sneaky.

I liked the historical aspect of the book but like I previously stated I had a hard time following along and pronouncing some words.  It says it is a YA book, I would encourage anyone who wanted to, to read it but I would never jump out of my seat pressuring a person to read it.  I am just proud of myself for finishing it because there were times I wanted to give up.

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading???”

  1. This books sounds SO awesome! It’s on my TBR list now. Congrats on finishing such a large work this week!
    The idea of the “Italian Fire” as syphilis is one that is also echoed in Edith Wharton’s short story “Roman Fever”. Check it out sometime!
    What made you choose this book?

    Like

  2. Nice job completing this book! It sounds very challenging. It sounds like the book had a lot of details and was a very interesting read. Nice job again and keep up the good work!

    Like

  3. This sounds like a very interesting book! I think I would struggle to finish through with this also, but I am trying a new challenge where I finish what I start! I think it’s hard to read books were you are constantly asking yourself, what did I just read? What in the world does that word mean? Congrats on finishing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

