It’s Monday! What are you reading??

image

So this week I read Because of Winn-Dixie which I would consider a classic in my book! (yes pun intended) It was written by Kate DiCamillo, besides winning the Newberry Honor in 2001 it has won the Josette Frank award and also the Mark Twain award. I knew many of my friends  read this book  in high school but I never got the chance so  when I saw that it was a Newberry Honor book I knew I had to read it!  I love my English Bulldog Dozer but I was really able  to put myself in Opal’s shoes throughout the whole story because of her love for Winn-Dixie, just like my love for my dog Dozer.  This book describes Winn-Dixie perfectly which makes the young reader able to become part of the story and grasp what the author is portraying in her words.
image

I also started reading the Princess Academy which was written by Shannon Hale.  This book won the Newberry Honor in 2006.  This book reminded me of Cinderella because the prince was going to pick his bride from  the princess academy at the end of the year.  Miri is like Cinderella because she has a  kind heart and loves to help others, but there is another boy named Peder who is a friend of Miri, I don’t know if what will happen but I will definitely give an update when I finally finish!  I think this book won the award in part because in the plot there is Peder,  he may  not be  a factor but my gut tells me that  the book won’t necessarily end up like Cinderella.  It also is a perfect age range for upper elementary and middle school girls.

21 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading??”

  1. Not only did I add Princess Academy to my TBR list, I’ve also added Rapunzel’s Revenge and its sequel Calamity Jack!
    Do you have any other flipped tale books you like?

    Like

      1. If you are enjoying the flipped tales, an adult book that is great is Wicked by Gregory Maguire. I love, love, LOVE it!

        Like

  2. Ooh, these both sound wonderful! I will definitely be adding both of them to my TBR list, as well! I have not read Because of Winn Dixie, but I have thoroughly enjoyed the other Kate DiCamillo books I read so far! I also love the “strong” princess books, so The Princess Academy sounds right up my (and my daughter’s) alley! Thanks for the recommendation! Have you read any of Kate DiCamillo’s other books?

    Like

  3. I remember reading Because of Winn Dixie as a child, and I absolutely LOVED it! It is such a cute book, but also kind of sad! I think any children’s books involving dogs, or animals in general is usually a hit! Have you watched the movie yet? If you do let me know what you think of it! We watched it as a class when I was younger and I remember thinking it followed the book decently.

    Like

  4. I’ve never read Because of Winn Dixie before but my mom loves that book! Glad to know I wasn’t the only one who hadn’t read it before. I’m a huge lab lover but since you became connected to Winn Dixie I’m sure I could too. Would you recommend this book at all?

    Like

  5. I just got done reading Because of Winn-Dixie for this week! I agree with you–it is totally a classic. Have you seen the movie before? I think they did a really good job with it. I can see myself using both in my classroom. This is a staple story!

    Like

  6. Great books to review, I’d say. I was unaware Winn Dixie had also won the Mark Twain and Josette Frank awards. Not surprised, it is a great book. A friend of mine uses it for a novel study each year in her sixth grade reading class. “Princess Academy” looks like a great one for girls. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Like

  7. “Because of Winn Dixie” is one of my favorite classics. I read it as a child and became overly saddened by it. I have a serious attachment to dogs. What a great read! I’m glad you got to enjoy it too!

    Like

  8. I have always loved “Because of Winn Dixie”! It is such a classic book that really can be read by all ages and enjoyed. I loved the movie I would highly suggest it! The movie is what made me want to read the book actually to see how well it went along with the original storyline. Any book or movie about dogs, or really any other animal, has always been some of my favorites because I think it is so easy to relate to them because most kids have had pets in their life or someone close to them that had pets.

    Like

Leave a Reply

