It’s Monday! What are You Reading??

I really liked this reading assignment even though I had a tough time finding a Golden Sower book.

Up! Tall! And High!

This one the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award and obviously I loved it because of who the award was named after (Dr. Seuss)!  The illustrations were very bright and very big.  This is definitely a great children’s book that even has pages that flip up and out which is a fun interactive twist on reading, in my opinion.  This award is only given to books published in America, “American Children’s Literature”, among other criteria.

The Pirate of Kindergarten

This book won the Schneider Family Book Award.  The award is given to author(s) and illustrator(s) that portray a disability that the character is experiencing.  In this particular book the little girl sees double, so she has double vision.  She is frustrated and gets embarrassed in front of her classmates, until she goes to the eye checkups at school and the nurse notices what is wrong.  She ends up going to the actual eye doctor and get a cool eye patch to help train her eyes.  She ends up loving life now that she sees “normally”, and she figured out she loves reading!

Who Am I without Him

This book won the Coretta Scott King Award.  This award honors Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. wife and her determination for peace.  This book was short stories of the trials and tribulations of young love.  Some of the stories were a little much for me because I couldn’t possibly relate to some of the girls because I don’t want a “thug” to be my boo.  I do enjoy books like this because I am reading more than I can actually tell.  I recommend this book for middle school aged girls who think that they have to revolve their lives around boys because that is what is important as a 14 year old.

Viva Frida

This book won the Pura Belpre Award.  Two medals shall be awarded annually at the Annual Conference of the American Library Association, one to a Latino author of an outstanding children’s book and one to a Latino illustrator for creating an outstanding children’s picture book. Each of these must be an original work that portrays, affirms and celebrates the Latino cultural experience.  http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/belpremedal/belpresubmission/belprmedaltrms

I have never heard of this particular award before but the reading was very interesting.  It has a Spanish word then the English word(s).  I can’t pronounce all of these words but it was still educational.  My favorite part was definitely the illustrations.  They are beautiful, so intricate and life-like.

My Golden Sower award book is Jake and Lily.  I am not quite finished reading this book yet but I can tell you it is about twins and from the sounds of it they start developing their own sense of independence.  It is good so far so I am looking forward to finishing it.

11 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading??”

  1. I love Viva Friday! Gorgeous illustrations! The Geisel award is one of my favorites–I have loved every Geisel book I’ve read, I think. It’s a fun award to try to be a completist with (as in read all the books that have won and been honored). The campus library has tried to improve its holdings of these early readers, so you’ll be able to find some of the books there–and more probably at the public library.

    Like

  2. I read Viva Frida in our first reading assignment! Isn’t it crazy how you can begin teaching your students the very basics of another language? I think the Up! Tall! High! book seems very interesting and entertaining to read to students! You seemed to have some great picks this past week!

    Like

  3. I need to read Viva Frida–every one keeps posting about it and saying how good it is! Man, my “to be read” list is getting reaaaaaaaly long at this point. Haha

    Up! Tall! And High! sounds great! I haven’t heard of that one before…is it pretty humorous? I think a lot of the Geisel Award winners are so great because they use such fun humor!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would have to agree that it was difficult to find some of these books. I’m not in Chadron, but used another relatively small library. I did not, however, have trouble finding Golden Sower books, so I hope you will be able to find some more and use them in the weeks to come for reading hours. Nebraska has some great authors! Here are a couple of my favorites: “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs” by Judi Barrett, “The Grannyman” by Judith Bryon Schnacher, and “My Lucky Day” by Keiko Kasza.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You have a great selections of books you read- some of which I read as well. How did you end up liking “Jake and Lilly”? It is a book I have been questionable on reading!

    Like

    1. It kind of got repetitive after awhile. I thought it was cute and I would recommend reading it just so someone could find out for themselves. If you do read it let me know what you think.

      Like

Leave a Reply

