It’s Monday! What Are You Reading???

For this weeks reading I decided to stay in the easy reader/juvenile section.  They focus on K-2 and 2-6 grades.  I also read a  Dr. Seuss book that I would consider an easy reader that I have in my own little library.
image

The first book I read was What Pet Should I Get?  This is the newest of the Dr. Seuss books and I absolutely love it (pretty obvious since I am such a fan).  It is about a young boy and his sister Kay that are allowed to pick out one pet.  They go to the pet store and see all these pets that they could get.  But which one will they pick??  They go back and forth deciding which one to get but they have to be home by noon.  At the end of the story the young boy picks an animal but you don’t know which one he picks.  You have to use your imagination, he had so many choices to choose from, he could have picked the tall pet who fits in a space that is small or a dog or a cat.  This is such a cute book and I would recommend it to anyone.
image

The next one I chose was Sailing the Unknown Around the World with Captain Cook.  This book was in the juvenile section and was interesting because it was a diary kept by a young boy named Nicholas Young.  They go on this great journey around the world exploring new lands and discovering all new people and how they live and survive.  They were gone for 2 years 10 months and 23 days.  I can’t imagine being gone on a ship exploring for that long away from my family and my friends.  A book that is a diary reading would be a great way to help students learn how to do a journal or a good way to understand why people used to keep diaries.
image

The Last book I am blogging about is a juvenile reading and it is a chapter book.  The Higher Power of Lucky. By Susan Patron.  This book is about a young girl named Lucky.  She is frustrated because her guardian Brigette could possibly be going back to France, which means she wouldn’t have a guardian anymore.  She is always eavesdropping on support groups where people talks about how they hit their rock bottom but found their higher power that helped them.  Lucky gets it in her mind that she needs to hit rock bottom in order to find her higher power, which would be running away and leaving everyone and everything behind.

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading???”

  1. I absolutely LOVE Dr. Seuss! His books are brilliant and I don’t know if there will ever be a better children’s book writer than him! I use Dr. Seuss whenever possible in my education classes because I think so highly of him! What’s your favorite Dr. Seuss book?

    Like

  2. I haven’t read the new Dr Seuss yet. I’ll have to look for it at the library because I have been hearing good things about it. I LOVE Higher Power of Lucky, but I have yet to meet another reader who loves it! I used to assign it in this class, but the students always complained that they were bored, so I decided I should take it off the syllabus. You’ll have to let me know what you end up thinking. It’s ok not to love it, LOL.

    Like

  3. I’m really interested in that last book, The Higher Power of Lucky. I see that it won a Newbery award so it must be good. I like the books that challenge the reader emotionally and it definitely seems like she goes through a journey of the heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

