Activism. Am I doing it?

I haven’t really participated in digital activism, unless you want to count all the times I have stood up for what I believe in. I really like the blog the 12 year old students have. How fun would it be for them to do something like that? They are not only doing research on a computer but also doing a little bit of math and science if you think about it.  Teaching kids how to be an activist while being a good digital citizen is very important to start at a young age. If a teacher (like the one in the article) got her students excited about an important topic that is world wide they could take that beyond the classroom and continue to be a “health” activist beyond their school years. It is important for everyone at any age to find their true passions and things in life they wanting to inform people about or pursue the life of others to be better. I did a little looking into on the Ugly duckling Inc. and really liked that they were advocates for people to find their true beauty! That to me is one of the most enduring qualities in a person. I am not an advocate for a lot of things out of my comfort zone but this is one thing I think everyone needs in their life, people who push and encourage you to know and find how truly wonderful you are. Maybe I should start being a digital activist for something to do with military because I am a sister of a Marine! I honestly find it interesting that it is so easy to learn about being a digital activist/activist and that it comes along with being a good digital citizen.

2 thoughts on “Activism. Am I doing it?”

Leave a Reply

